h1

Prince Caspian

May 26, 2008

I’ve been really enjoying all this movie-going. It’s been years since there were a string of films I was interest enough in to go see, so this is a really wonderful change of pace. And (so far) I haven’t been abjectly disappointed by anything. I’m a cynical old man when it comes to media, but Iron Man, Indy, and now Prince Caspian have all been fairly entertaining. At the least, I have felt I got my money’s worth.

Sunday Katie and I had dinner over at the Great Dane in Fitchburg. The Dane downtown is a Madison institution, and the one in Fitchburg has had a lot to live up to. I think it’s done so admirably, with a great blend of family-style restaurant and pub atmosphere. It was beautiful yesterday, so we were kind of hoping to get window seats, but instead ended up in the bar area. That ended up mostly fine; walking through the dining room proper on the way to the bathroom I noticed there were a bunch of whiney kids making noise.

The bar area, itself, is plenty nice enough. And the food was more than distracting enough. We had some cheese curds to start, and I had a pint of their Oatmeal Stout. For dinner I had a Brat and Bacon Pretzel Burger, which is just as complicated as it sounds. It’s got a Pretzeled Bun, cheese, bacon, burger patty, and then a thinly-sliced bratwurst layer. I always cut my sandwiches in half, and ended up tackling the second half with a fork; messy but delicious business. Katie had Brats and mashed potatoes, and the potatoes were probably the best thing on the table. Light, fluffy, garlic/buttery and very very flavourful.

Caspian itself was a lot of fun too. The first book in the Narnia series has never been my favorite, and so I just generally didn’t enjoy the movie all that much either. Caspian, now, that’s a good un’. I recall enjoying the book a bit better than this movie adaptation, but the cinema experience was well done also:

  • The four protagonists were just generally better actors this time around; more experience points help a lot.
  • Really liked seeing Edward being so asskicking; highlight of the film for me.
  • I love seeing the Minotaurs from WETA, as I mentally see them as Beta tests for Tauren in the World of Warcraft movie.
  • All of the weapon and armor props were really beautiful; perhaps the aforementioned WoW has conditioned me this way but I really liked the shoulder pads especially.
  • They really evoked a feeling of loss amongst the Narnians; the ruins and sour demeanor among the people was well done.
  • Reepicheep was pretty cute, I’ll admit it.
  • Generally could have done with a less overwrought Azlan, and some of those speeches between Caspian and Peter were a bit overdone.

Katie and I don’t get out on dates much, but it was a great evening. I’m glad we took the time to hang out.

One comment

  1. the makers of Prince Caspian kept to the original story surprisingly well, all thinks considered… i heard they were going to make it into a silly pure-action flick, but thankfully this was not the case



Comments are closed.

