h1

A Return To Health

May 23, 2008

It’s been a very rough three weeks. Not just because I’ve been getting used to my new job, my new role … but because my wife has been very sick. Frustratingly, it was just a flu-like virus. Sniffles, upset stomach, and a really bad cough, essentially unending. Take those symptoms and turn them up to an 11. For three weeks. I’ll spare you the gorey details, but it was really bad for her; extremely terrible.

I hope I won’t sound like a total wuss that I note it was pretty bad for me too. Empathizing with your spouse, taking care of them, can be pretty disheartening. On top of the adjustment phase of my new gig, it’s been a challenge to keep my head on straight.

Katie finally felt well enough to go back to work yesterday, and today she’s actually smiling and talking. It’s amazing just to see her smiling again; you miss the simplest things during a long illness like this.

Tomorrow we’re actually going to see people (yay), and go to a housewarming party for Ben Davenport. Sunday we’re going to celebrate her good health with a dinner and movie date. Prince Caspian, most likely. With Caspian under my belt that’ll put me at three-for-three with my Summer movie list.

Which is a good thing indeed; I’ve mentally added a few more to the list.

2 comments

  1. Glad to hear your wife is feeling better, man. Hope you have a fun weekend.


  2. Thanks, Cam. :)



Comments are closed.

