h1

Welcome back to Random Dialogue

May 20, 2008

It’s been well over a year since I regularly posted on Randomdialogue.net. December 2006 is the last period where I regularly put my thoughts out here for the world to view, and that makes a lot of sense in my head. Since my hiring at Slashdot in the spring of 2005, my life has gone through a large number of tidal changes. I’ve gotten married, I’ve moved, I’ve written freelance for a brimming fistful of websites, and my view of who I am and what I care about has gone through a ton of changes.

I’ve moved RD.net’s hosting to the official WordPress site as part of an initiative to get me reinterested in the site. I’m feeling very contemplative about my life, to be honest, and text is how I explore pretty much everything nowadays. No reason not to get this engine of introspection going again. Certainly it’s storied – my first entry in the database is all the way back in 2001, and I know for a fact that I had content in my MySQL DB back into 2000. I’ve deleted a bunch of my posts several times now (on accident) over the years. Even still, this site is a relatively good outline of what I’ve done since my Sophmore year of college.

I’ve got lots of projects planned for my newly reopened site, of course. I want to get my RPG campaign data hosted in the database. I’d like to go back and make a reference page for all the articles I’ve written over the last two years. But mostly I want to try to keep this stream of conciousness going. For a lot of reasons I feel like I’m coming out of a very strange place in my life, and I want to record my thoughts during this period.

I’m really very happy with my work life at this point. I’m working to address the health issues I’ve struggled with most of my life. I’m trying to reconnect with friends I feel I’ve been alienating for the last year. I’m greatly enjoying relearning how to read for fun. And, of course, I’m glad to have the chance to write for nobody but myself.

Welcome back. I hope you stick around.

