h1

Neopolitan of Emotions

May 19, 2008

This past weekend I had the immense pleasure of watching my brother walk across the stage at the Kohl Center in Madison, WI. He was wearing a black gown and a mortar board, and his tassle was color coded for Masters students. There a number of levels to what’s going on in my head, and I want to try to pin them down. First and foremost I’m feeling very happy and proud; Paul’s done an inordinate amount of work to get where he is now. We are very different people, but that doesn’t in the least stop me from sharing in his successes.

Those differences are another thing I’m really cognizent of. Paul’s degree title is in something like “Public Policy and Educational Administration.” As you can imagine, our interests are a bit different. As he outlined in his NYT contest application, we both grew up in some unique circumstances. It’s just endlessly fascinating to me that we’ve become such drastically disperate people. Our seperate points of view don’t stop us from having decent conversations, of course. He may not join me in a decent burger, and I might not share his passion for academia, but we’re still good friends.

It’s mighty interesting to have his point of view available, actually. He has a view of technology and games and such that I and my friends are quite removed from. I’m gratified that we’ve both come far enough that the pair of squabbling siblings that lived at Eagle Heights are now (though not always in agreement) convival conversationalists. Congratulations, Paul. I’m really very proud to be your sibling.

