h1

Reading Rekindled

May 16, 2008

Yesterday my Kindle arrived.

By the time you read this post I’ll already have done something like 7x the non-work reading I’ve done in the last year.

Once, reading sci-fi, fantasy, and non-fiction informative books was one of the greatest joys in my life. Since I started working for Slashdot, reading hundreds of thousands of words every day pretty effectively killed my interest in the written word as entertainment.

Getting out of Slashdot’s hose and the arrival of my Kindle has … well, I’ll be honest, I almost started crying yesterday afternoon when I realized I’d gone through two chapters of my first Kindle novel even without realizing it.

I’m going to keep talking about it as I use it … I plan on doing a lot of talking about a lot of things in the near future … but for the moment I’ll simply say that I love using this device. It meshes so completely with the way that I read, it’s almost scary.

Thanks to my Mom and Cameron Sorden for helping me back on this road.

What am I reading, you might ask? What else would I restart my reading life with?

