h1

My Best Gaming Moments of All Time

October 1, 2007

Over at Buttonmashing, Tony asked “What was the moment [in gaming] that took your breath away?” That quest in turn is based on a short blurb at the Megatonik blog.

My favorite gaming moment?

I couldn’t pick one, so here are a handful:

1.) The end of Legend of Zelda: Link to the Past. It is, of course, the fantastical future, and you can relive that moment right here. At the time, Ganon was a really satisfying fight, and (outside of the game) has some emotional overtones for me. The two shots that always got to me was ‘Flute Boy Plays Again’, because I always thought the disappearing flute kid was a really haunting beautiful part of that story, and (of course) ‘The Master Sword Sleeps Again … Forever’.

2.) The confrontation with SHODAN at the end of the original System Shock. You know the one: “Look at you, hacker. A pathetic creature of meat and bone, panting and sweating as you run through my corridors. How can you hope to defeat a perfect, immortal machine?”

3.) The first time I really turned up the volume on the E3 2006 Halo 3 Trailer. Martin O’Donnell is a masterful composer, and listening to that theme at high volumes is, simply put, a moving experience. Makes me proud to be a gamer. Plus I used it to shut up my annoying upstairs neighbors once. That was awesome.

4.) The first time I played Alone in the Dark was also the first time a videogame ever scared me. The moment? The upstairs bedroom of Lucy Morton.

I’ve got one that I’d like to add here, but can’t; it hasn’t happened yet. That moment? The first time I play Mass Effect.

What are some of yours? Comments open for this one.

One comment

  1. Seeing the preserved Hyrule in a bubble underwater in Wind-waker is way up there, along with the level afterwards which starts out with everything frozen in time. They used grayscale to denote frozen in timeness, and it created an amazing impression.

    Also, no one can write off being rescued by the Super Metroid in Metroid 3.



Comments are closed.

