h1

Tired of Talking About Nothing

November 27, 2006

Blogging is, ostensibly, supposed to convey the opinions and personality of the person writing the site. I’ve let everything in the world get in the way of that. I’ve allowed the site’s design (too busy, not busy enough, not using the ‘official RD colors’), my audience (friends, family, folks who follow the link from Slashdot), and most of all myself get in the way of writing what I want to write here.

The crux of the matter is this: I’ve been too free giving out information to this site. Whenever I write something here, it goes out to RSS readers scattered throughout my life, and I worry about who will read the things I say here. As a result, I edit myself and keep my posts restricted to ‘safe’ topics like books, movies, and the minutia of my life.

I’m tired of staring at that brown background. I’m tired of looking into the face of a CSS layout I’ll never complete, and trying to think of yet another inane thing to say. I have come to a crossroads. Either I can stop using this site, or I can try to write more honestly and simply.

To that end, I’ve stripped the site back to the default skin. I’m going to use this for the time being, because it suits the simple air I want the site to have. I’ve dithered back and forth about turning off comments. This may change in the future, but for the time being, I’ll leave them on. Be aware that if I don’t like what you have to say, you don’t get to say it on my site. You should also be aware my first few posts after this are likely to be a bit emo. Winter of my discontent, and all that.

The bottom line here, is that I need to start using this site for myself again. If you don’t like that, you’re welcome to unsubscribe from my feed. Thanks.

2 comments

  1. Amen!


  2. “I have come to a crossroads. Either I can stop using this site, or I can try to write more honestly and simply.”

    No truer words have ever been said. Well, except maybe “Oh My God you’re killing me! Ahhh! Take that fork out of my neck!”

    Seriously though. For the longest time I was hesitant about blogging because I felt that I simply didn’t have important things to say. For example, I search the internet, and what do I find? Millions of other people who are better writers than me, better mathmaticians, better cooks, better artists, and maybe even they’re just better at being people.

    Why should one more irrevelant human scream itself hoarse into a world where noone cares let alone even hears?

    Because that voice is mine.

    I’ve decided that I simply don’t care if what I say only contributes to the heat death of the universe. If anything I’m happier that I’m doing my little part to bring that day closer. Also, I don’t really care that much who reads my site. I know that it might close some doors, but chances are I probably wouldn’t have gone through those doors if I knew what had been behind them. I write what I want to write about and when.

    I put words to page because simply it amuses me in some fashion–either the topic, the style, the wording, whatever. If you put words to page for anything that isn’t that reason (or that you get paid for it). Then stop.



Comments are closed.

