h1

Chasing Your Shadow East

October 27, 2006

My latest Netflixing is the Bravo Documentary ‘Long Way Round’, which I’d watched originally when it aired. It was odd … they only aired it once straight through, and were quite stingy about reruns. Which is insane, because it’s one of the few ‘reality’ programs I’ve ever really truly enjoyed. I think it’s because the show has a focus. It’s not just a bunch of idiots bouncing around inside a ‘concept’. The show consists of footage shot while actors Ewan McGregor and Charlie Borman made their way around the world on motorbikes. It’s a great travel story, it’s a tale of logistics, and it has some wonderful human elements tied to it as well. Great stuff.

Because they’re heading directly east for essentially the entire trip, the subtitle for the show is ‘Chasing Shadows Around the World’. A great metaphor, I think. We’re on a sphere hurtling through a void, whipping around a burning mass of energy and matter, and we’re just kind of along for the ride. Considering my physical size, sometimes I think it’s fun to feel small. It doesn’t take much to feel small if you think on a galactic scale.

I stayed up all night last night, for the first time in I can’t even remember. It was not by choice, I can assure you, and I still didn’t get everything I wanted to accomplished. The big goal I had was fulfilled, thankfully. Another Escapist article more or less in the bag. Good times. Tomorrow is the annual Halloween party, so there will be deviled eggs and booze. Sunday we have game, and I’m going to give it a go in trying to preorder a Wii. Soo, on balance, it’s probably good that my internal clock is already off.

I’d say I’m looking forward to getting into next week, but November is going to be really hard. Really hard. No way through it but to do it, eh?

