h1

Perspective

September 5, 2006

When I was 6 years old I heard the term “lost the baby” for the first time. The Grown-Ups were talking in hushed tones that the Strodabacks-our neighbors, she of the big smile-had been pregnant, and then she lost the baby.My first thought was: How careless of her.

Everyday Stranger | Back Where I Was

Things look differently, sometimes, when you compare your own life with someone else’s. I haven’t been writing much lately because I don’t have a lot to say. A lot of projects on the burner right now:

  • Bi-Weekly GameSetWatch ‘MMOG Nation’ column
  • Working on another GSW column for the other week.
  • Reviews for a slew of books and games for Slashdot.
  • Lots of work on the Shackled City game.
  • Getting into the swing of things for a new Shadowrun campaign Aaron is running.
  • Trying to work up material for MMOG Nation.

Everything seems kind of silly when you look outside the walls of your own little piece of reality.

5 comments

  1. A taco fell from the sky and landed on my patio this afternoon. This doesn’t have anything to do with Michael’s post. I just thought I’d share.

    P.S. A taco really did fall from the sky onto my patio today. Really.


  2. Ermmm…

    Why did a taco fall from the sky onto your patio?


  3. Well, that’s the million dollar question, isn’t it?

    Small-minded people might posit that it was thrown over our fence by a passer-by in the graveyard behind our house. I don’t believe this is the case, because from what I saw of the event, it came straight down. It’s also much farther from the fence than a casual “I’m being a jerk and throwing my garbage into these peoples’ yard” toss. The splash pattern from the ground beef and cheese also indicates that the taco had little to no lateral momentum when it struck the patio.

    It could be that a local aviator flying his private plane out of the local small-town airport tossed his lunch out of the cockpit. That would be consistent with the evidence, yet boring.

    My theory is that this taco is the precursor of an enormous interstellar taco armada bent on world domination.

    Oh, and the taco had a bite out of the top of it. The TOP. What goodly creature of the Earth would eat a taco like that?


  4. I’ve been deathly ill the last several days. I think I’m finally coming through the tunnel, back into the light of life and fuzzy things. My sense of, you know, physics has somewhat returned. I grudgingly admit that a taco from a plane would actually have a greater lateral velocity than that of one chucked over the fence. Unless, of course, the taco has an unusually high drag. Can someone run wind-tunnel tests on a double-decker taco for me?

    If we have to rule out airplanes, perhaps we could go with a helicopter. One which decided to hover directly over my house and… drop a taco. Okay, that’s dumb. Maybe it has something to do with wormholes or temporal displacement. Just think! This could be Hitler’s Lost Taco! Surely he, of all the people through history, would be evil enough to eat a taco from the top.

    P.S. Even though I was very, very sick at the time, I did not hallucinate the sky taco. Jeanine had to go out onto the patio and clean it up. It’s still in our garbage can under the sink. The sky taco is real. Viva el Taco del Cielo!


  5. Matt, you are a wonderful person. Thank you for existing. :)



Comments are closed.

