h1

Who?

April 15, 2006

Katie and I have watched the first three episodes of the new Dr. Who series, and I have to express my happiness with what we’ve seen so far. The first episode suffered from series introduction syndrome, and the third seemed just a little to preoccupied with the Dickensian nature of the world. The second episode, thought, was so awesome it was hawesome.

From the site:

‘The End of the World’ – The Doctor takes Rose on her first voyage through time, to the year Five Billion. The Sun is about to expand and swallow the Earth. But amongst the alien races gathering to watch on Platform One, a murderer is at work. Who is controlling the mysterious, deadly spiders?

I’m glad they have the budget to do stuff on earth now (and not just the UNIT stuff with the 5th doctor), but I love the really out there SF that Who has managed to fit in now and again. “End of the World” was not only great SF, it was positively Transhuman in some of its ideas, such as subhuman species (created by genetic manipulation), other sentient species from the Earth, and specially-built servitor races working for an AI.

I’ve very specifically avoided spoilers for the show (except for knowing about the 10th doctor; hard not to have heard about that), so I don’t know what’s coming up. I really hope Rose eventually gets her Time/Space legs under her, because I’m already getting slightly bored of treading around in the kiddie pool. Here’s hoping we have some deep space hijinks upcoming on this show, which I am very much looking forward to.

No comments yet

  1. I took part in an interesting discussion while over at the De Smet’s for Brian’s birthday party. It seems that the folks I know who are watching the show are pretty sharply divided in their feelings about Rose. I found that a bit suprising but lack the patience to conduct a more thorough survey. ;)

    Other than her slight flailing, what are you thinking of her so far Michael?


  2. I like her a lot. I don’t know what’s not to like. She’s spunky, she’s cute … she’s a companion. :)


  3. I like Rose too, though I tend to get mesmerized by her giant mouth.


  4. i like rose also, and not just cause she has an awesome name. Did you know that a person could be named Rose Rose Rose? I think that’s cool. Maybe I’ll do that some day. I like her feisty sarcastic british personality.



Comments are closed.

