h1

Winter of My Disconnect

March 7, 2006

Understand, it’s not that I mind worry following me like a dinosaur, it’s more all the soul coughing I do.Winter used to be one of my favorite seasons, what with the cold (which I like) and the snow (which I liked before I had to drive). Christmas was in Winter, and New Year’s. In this part of the country, Halloween and Thanksgiving usually occurred after snow had fallen and I’d long since considered it Winter. So, what’s not to like.

Lethargy, in a word. Depression hasn’t really been a problem for me since I started doing something that I like for pay, but the lack of sunlight affects me far more than it used to back in the day. Without sunlight, my brain decides that between December and March it’s a really good time to take a nap. All the time. Bah.

The days are getting longer here, and with longer days comes stuff that needs to get done. Places to go, people to see, and most importantly to me: stuff to write. Games are coming out at a brisk pace, freeing me up from the one-feature-a-month frustration of January and February.

See, now comes the hard part: Where I actually write the articles. Luckily for me, I am feeling downright thoughtful right now. I was inspired in this fashion by events last night. I had the opportunity to sit with the TavernCast commentators to talk about MMOGs and their wider social impact. I’m not sure how they thought it went; I’m certainly no radio personality.

A few things did strike me though, as I listened to my side of the conversation afterwards: 1.) My voice actually isn’t that bad. I’m always struck during phone messages by how nasal I sound, something that I don’t really experience inside my skull. 2.) I actually do appear to know what I’m talking about. There are several points during the conversation where I can hear my wheels turning. Then I say something passingly coherent. To me, shocking to hear my thought process from outside myself. 3.) I did a little hemming and ‘umm’ing, but I don’t think I did it enough to be distracting. I did the amount of umming I needed to let my mouth catch up with my brain, and no more.

I’m just going to go ahead and pat myself on the back right now. Now, in a week or two when Show #20 comes out I’ll see whether or not that back pat was deserved, but it certainly did put a few things in perspective for me. I’ll talk more about the discussion over on MMOG Nation when the show comes out, but I’ll say, right now, that the Tavern-folk were awesome to talk with. They were just as funny ‘in person’ as they seem on the show. They were also extremely professional, and did a great job of working with someone they’d never even spoken to before in a conversational tone. Sirs and Madam, my thanks and respect. I’d raise a glass of Rhapsody if it wasn’t for the import tariffs.

No comments yet

  1. If you have a hard time with the lack of sunlight next winter you might want to consider getting a sunlamp. My mom has one and it helps her a lot. (Also, if you use the bulbs that are normally for growing plants inside, a sunlamp is really cheap.)


  2. Lemme know when episode 20 comes out



Comments are closed.

