h1

I Don’t Understand Curling

February 13, 2006

I’m sitting here getting some work done this morning with the happy sounds of the Olympics behind me. This is probably my favorite part of ‘watching’ the Olympic. I’ll pay specific attention to certain sports (downhill skiing, snowboarding, pairs), but I love half-listening to some of the less loved sports like Biathalon, Cross-Country, and Curling. The only problem is that I don’t understand curling at all. Thankfully, Wikipedia exists to tell me the rules of the game. Photo updates! Sunday’s Olympics in Pictures, Monday’s Olympics in Pictures. They also have photos from London’s bid for the Summer Games.

Yesterday’s game… bah. We came up against a *very* complicated encounter, and I choked. I was in a bad mood because I knew how bad it was going to be, and I ended up running the game less exactingly than I would otherwise have wanted to. Once it was underway I think things went well, but setup was excruciating, and I put my players under too much confusion. Every experience like this, though, is a learning experience. To say the least, it was not a boring session. As usual, the players have a synopsis of the session, if you’re curious.

