h1

2006 Winter Olympic Opening Ceremony

February 10, 2006

I’m sitting in my easy chair, watching the Italian flag being raised as the Winter Olympic Opening Ceremony chugs into gear. As I watch cow models being pulled across the floor of the stadium cow sounds filling the Italian air, I reflect on the weirdness of every damn ceremony. I understand that they’re trying to talk, via drama and music, in a way that every culture can understand. Just the same, it’s always pretty surreal. The Olympics don’t get many people fired up here in the states, and the winter Olympics even less so. I think part of that might be the wacky melodrama of the Opening Ceremony.

That said, I love this crap. I love the Olympics. I’m a big believer in being a citizen of a species and a planet, and I love the idea of people from differing cultures coming together to compete peacefully. Two years ago I fervently posted images from the BBC’s coverage, and I plan to do the same this year. My 2004 Summer Olympics recap post has the complete rundown on that event. For this year’s event, BBC has a hub site set up to cover every aspect of the games. They’ve already got a photo album from the opening ceremony up for viewing.

The procession of the athletes is always a lot of fun, and I’m enjoying the colourful costumes and inane commentary by (my archfoe) Bob Costas. Here’s hoping for a good games.

