h1

Non-Realtime Communications For The Lose

February 9, 2006

Working as I do in a bubble of reality far removed from everyone and everything, digital communication is basically my only means of reaching the outside world. I hate it. Hate it with a burning and unyielding passion.

Instant Messaging is great for immediacy, but the complete lack of vocal context and body language is frustrating and soul-crushing. Not only have things I’ve said been taken in the wrong vein by someone talking to me, but I know I’ve been frustrated or offended by what was (likely) intended to be an innocuous comment.

Email is even worse. Not only is it contextless, it’s asynchronous. All that means, as far as I can tell, is that it’s easy to ignore. It is impossible to get ahold of someone, no matter how dire the information need you have, if you try to do it over email.

Despite my fear of the outside world, bears, and people I don’t know, I have to say I’m glad I’m going to GDC. Gamasutra has a piece on how to get out there and network. I’m not looking for a job at the event, but meeting new people (especially other game journos) can only be a good thing. I’m thinking outright bribery to grease the social wheels.

Now, to work out a way to make sure that my bribes don’t break into crumbs on the trip out to California…

