h1

In Space Explosions Are Silent

January 8, 2006

A good weekend. Quiet, specifically, and probably my last one for a while. This week I’m back to reviewing (Dead or Alive 4, at the least), and next weekend we return to the Shackled City. As much as I like playing, it’s been nice to take the opportunity to recharge my GMing batteries.

I decided, last week, that a Games retrospective was unnecessary. If someone was to pin me down and ask me, I’d admit to wanting to finish up one more week in a Holiday state of mind. More than that, though, the users don’t want to reflect. They just want to consume information and spit back bile. I’ve come to accept this, and am focusing my creative energies into my /. reviews, and at the same time, opening myself up to other projects. It took me a year to figure it out, but The Escapist article really opened my eyes. There are places other than Slashdot to write. I just have to, you know, get agreements to write for those places. I can do my job very well at Slash, and get my words out there, at the same time.

Yeah, I know I’m a little slow.

Friday night was spent working to start up the first of these projects. The URL hasn’t caught up with all the DNS servers on the interweb yet. Of course, it’s hosted here on RD.net so I can point you directly at it. This project? MMOG Nation (mmognation.com, when the servers catch up). That name has been on the tip of my tongue for the last two years, ever since I realized that MMORPGDot wasn’t going to get me where I wanted to go. MMOG Nation is going to be a platform for my opinions and experiences playing Massively Multiplayer Online Games. I have to point fingers, though. Raph Koster and Foton were my instigators. Their writing over the last few months has been inspirational for me as a writer and a gamer. When I start sucking out loud, I know who to blame. ;)

Yesterday I ventured back to Azeroth for friends; We braved the trolls and basilisks of Zul’Farrack. With I in my mid-50s and my friends in the mid-to-late 40s, we chewed up the scenery fairly quickly. We learned the hard way that if you don’t talk to the adventuring party at the Pyramid fairly quickly, they hearth out of there. Lamentable. Nonetheless, we finished the early part of that battle and killed Gahz’rilla. I’ll never get tired of that guy. After gaming we had some dinner at the Panquake Cafe, where I learned that non-deep-fried Monte Cristos are actually quite good. My experience with the sandwich at Bennigans last year was … frightening. This was much better. Afterwards we hung out and talked gaming, both table-top and Massive.

It was very interesting being in a group of my peers who are both interested and versed in the lore of the Massive games. We traded anecdotes from our online experiences, and passed around a couple of good tales from the world at large. Ethic’s interview with Istvaan Shogaatsu was thoroughly discussed. Damn, what I wouldn’t give for another lifetime to play that game.

Today I’ve been working my 360, playing GUN, DOA, and Amped 3; all are short-term Gamefly acquisitions. I’m uhh…glad I bought the games I did.

