h1

Post-Year NavelGazing

January 3, 2006

It has been quite a year. In fact, as I mention on my little bio page, this has been the busiest, most eventful year of my life. I’m not sure I’d say it was the *best* year of my life, becuase I did far too much learning and working to have as much fun as I would have liked. That said, I had a lot of fun too. Here’s hoping that I learn as much, work as much, and have even more fun in 2006.

My 2005 in a Nutshell –

  • Quit The Douglas Stewart Company.
  • Was hired full-time at Slashdot.
  • Married the love of my life, Katharine.
  • Wrote over two dozen review articles for Slashdot Games.
  • Went to GenCon again.
  • Celebrated my Golden Birthday.
  • Went to one of the few ‘Final Fantasy’ concerts ever performed in the U.S.
  • Attended my first conference as a Games editor, the GDC.
  • Snagged a Powerbook and the first next-gen system, the Xbox 360.
  • Wrote my first purchased article for a publication.

In 2006, I’m looking forward to –

  • Joe and Abby’s Wedding
  • Kirstin and Matt’s Wedding
  • Another Game Developer’s Conference.
  • More work-related trips (Austin Game Conference? PAX?)
  • I’d love to go on a honeymoon!
  • I would be shocked if I didn’t go to GenCon.

The best parts, of course, are the things that will happen this year that don’t make this list. The reason – I don’t know what will happen. Yay for learning!

