h1

Holly Jolly Blah Blah Blah

December 22, 2005

I am looking forward to Christmas this year. I don’t, normally. In fact, I hate the damned holiday. It’s crass, it’s commercial, and the evening of Christmas day ends with you looking out onto a dark and harsh winter world. It’s just depressing. So why am I looking forward to it this year? I honestly couldn’t tell you. Perhaps it’s my job, which I’m starting to really enjoy pushing up against every day. There are problems with having a job that can hit back, but it does make it more interesting. Maybe it’s my wife, who it has been my pleasure to get to know even better since August. Everytime I think I have her pegged, I get to learn something new. It’s neat, and I’m looking forward to a lot more Christmases to come with this woman.

For whatever reason I’m in the Christmas spirit, and the work-week is ending well. It’s been a busy few days, but all kinds of busy that I can handle. We’ve already seen a lot of family this week, so we’re prepared for this weekend’s familyfest. After Paul and my cousin Rebecca assisted us with the tree on Monday, Katie, Ben, and I ended up having dinner with my Mom last night. It was a quiet Wednesday, and so with the Davenport van’s help we wrangled a piece of furniture from Mary Dee’s place to our apartment. Benvenuto’s served up some good gone-to-Spain stories, and reminded me (again) what an interesting and kind mother I have. This evening for dinner we hung out with Katie’s brother Don, talking about this, that, and the other. Tomorrow we both work like crazy, and then sink into the laxitude of the Holiday weekend. I wouldn’t have been on duty anyway this weekend, but it’s still nice to pretend I’m getting time off.

Somehow when I posted on Tuesday I neglected to mention my Prince of Persia review, which I should have done. Yesterday saw my (much discussed) Impressions of a Second Shipment 360 Owner piece go up. Next week I’m going to writeup my experiences with Animal Crossing for the DS (not a review per se, another Nintendogs experience piece), and I’m thinking I’ll wrap up the new year with some look-backs and sniping. This will mark the third week in a row I’ve done a non-straight review piece, and I think I like it. I have ‘ideas’ for more more non-review stuff, which is good. I’ve been wanting to get away from the straight review since I started this gig. I don’t know how the users will react … but that’s part of the fun. [cue evil laughter]

The image attached to this post is a look-see at my new desktop setup. Playing with the interfaces on the 360, my Apple laptop, and WordPress has made me appreciative of a comfortable UI. I downloaded WindowBlinds, a skinning program for the Windows XP OS, and I’m messing around with some different themes. This is the one I like the most so far. The desktop feels much more open with the taskbar on the side, too. It’s fun to change things up every once in a while.

The plan of attack for this weekend includes Dinner with the Giacomini’s, then house-hopping with my family. Presents in the morning with Katie’s family on Sunday, then double-duty dinner. Mmph. It’s a good thing I love these people. I certainly am going to be seeing a lot of them.

