h1

Not In Texas

October 27, 2005

Well, on the one hand I’m not in Texas. That’s a good thing.

On the other hand, I’m not in Austin, where I’m once again missing out on the Austin Games Conference. This time I even meant to go. Had a plane ticket, had hotel reservations…then the ticket went poof. Here’s a lesson, kids: frequent flyer programs are not to be trusted. feh.

There’s a part of me that is glad I’m staying home this weekend. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but it’s sort of been a loooong year for me. Looking forward to a few months of nothing more stressful than writing and gaming is a nice feeling.

That said, dangit. I wanted to go hear one of my favorite englishmen give a talk about how us kids have it so good with our threedee graphics and whatnot. Whippersnappers.

As it is, I’ve got a Hollyween party to attend Saturday night. I’m thinking I’m going to go late so as to hook up with my wife as she’s leaving work. Despite having asked off a long time ago, the Barnes that is Noble didn’t see fit to grace her with an evening without annoyance. Well…I suppose the party isn’t going to be annoyance free. But there’s the annoyance of a friend who’s had too much to drink and *really* wants to talk about high capacity routers and the annoyance of a customer who is confused as to why the book that was released two days ago is not yet out in paperback form.

Another Austin Games Conference to be lived vicariously through Gamasutra and Terra Nova. Here’s hoping next year sees me visiting the festering backwater that is the U.S.’s Texaniest place.

