h1

Birthday of Au

September 25, 2005
I am 25 today. I was born a quarter century ago, and today is my golden birthday. Gold is hardly what the weather is like, for the record. It’s been raining since I woke up this morning, and it shows no signs of abating anytime soon. Which, of course, is fine by me. :)

It has been a very, very long week. I’ve been pretty busy with the writing and the whatnot. Familial stuff has been weighing on Katie, and making things less happy. All in all, I’ve been exhausted the last few days.

But that’s okay, because people seem hell-bent on throwing me parties this year. I had one with my side of the family on Thursday, which was lovely. We went over to Paul’s place for pizza, presents, and conversation. Last night Katie and I threw a shindig here at our place for folks, after a viewing of Corpse Bride (opinion upcoming). We got big sammiches from Subway, and a copious amount of soda. A good time was had by all, I think. This afternoon Katie and I are heading in the direction of her folk’s place, where we’re going to do dinner and such with her family.

No game today, both because of that and a U2 concert that Jeff and Viv are attending. Next weekend we’re going to be doing a marathon session on the 2nd, which will hopefully power us through the bulk of the rest of Chapter One. Mmmm…smell the old gnomes.

My dear wife gave me my presents early this morning, and they totally rule. Besides a highly appropriate Dr. Seuss Book, I got How to Be a Pirate, Captain Flinn and the Pirate Dinosaurs, and the simply indescribable Encyclopedia Prehistorica: Dinosaurs. The Encyclopedia is a pop-up book of truly epic proportions (as witnessed in the pic above). I took a look at it in Barnes and Noble (on her urging) and it really takes the breath away. If you get the chance to play with this thing in a bookstore (or buy it) I highly recommend it. It’s absolutely beautiful, and the science in it is fairly accurate, given current prevailing thoughts.

Between now and next Shackled City session, I have two reviews to write, and a lot of game to play. Off to see a man about a Katamari…

