h1

Gaming News Sites Should Shut Up and Report News

July 26, 2005

I’m not sure if there is something in the water lately, but gaming news sites have had their knickers in a twist about each other a lot lately. Seems like a week doesn’t go by that I don’t see a new site saying snarky things about another site.

Slashdot gets a lot of flack from all corners, and I’m used to that. But where did this backhanded comment on Joystiq come from? It’s always nice to know my work is appreciated.

This week has been especially bad, with Matthew Gallant over at Computer Games Magazine apparently having gotten out of the wrong side of the bed this morning. Twice today he’s snarked out at news sites, calling Next Generation ‘vague’ and the sites Joystiq and Kotaku ridiculous rumour mongers.

Now, my personal feeling about Joystiq and Kotaku aside, what business is it of Gallant’s to point fingers at these sites? Is Computer Games Magazine really that much better than Kotaku or Joystiq that he can make pronouncements about the validity of their stories? Okay, sure, I may make jokes about controller rumours or stupid contests to my friends or here on my personal site, but I would never put that up on Slashdot. Which is, as I think a lot of people forget sometimes, a business. CGM is a business, too, unless all those advertisements on the site are just for asthetic reasons. I think it’s poor judgement to go calling people names from a business platform. Think what you like in private, but shut the hell up and report the news in public.

