h1

The Wookie Made Me Do It

June 1, 2005

Okay, I’ll own up to it.

I’ve been playing Star Wars Galaxies again lately. I blame the illness. In my defense, I’m not paying a penny for it. I decided sometime during the past week that it would be interesting to check out the new Rage of the Wookies and Space content.

I’ll admit it, I was pleasantly surprised. The game still has a lot of dull spots, but the game is about 1000x more inviting to the new player than it was back in the day. The space combat has elements of entertainment to it, and the fun level is commensurate with the amount of cash you pull in from space missions.

The Combat Upgrade that has caused veteran players so much grief is still something to get used to. The game I used to play is very much gone, with EQ in space the left over result. EQ in space has fun moments, but the level restrictions and fantasy add-ons feel very different from what I remember of the summer of 2003.

Assuming I regain the ability to write things, I might try and put together something for Slash about the new user experience.

