h1

I Love The X-Files

March 6, 2005

Lately Katie and I have been cracking into the DVDs I own of Seasons 1-4 of the X-Files, and it’s been really excellent revisiting one of the shows that I consider to be a building block of my pop culture psyche. Along with shows like Northern Exposure and the Trek series, the X-Files has meaning for me above and beyond simple entertainment. Some of the first writing I ever did was prompted by the X-Files, and it connected me up with some truly excellent people.

In a lot of ways the X-Files is a trip down memory lane. A lot of the original episodes were first run when I was in High School, and I have very fond memories of discovering a show that was to redifine the undercurrent of weird TV. Above and beyond personal memories the show has been something like a 90s refresher course. The differences aren’t huge, obviously, but there are a number of disconnects with the aughts that make me recall how things used to be. (The size of their cell phones!) The ubiquity of the Internet is something that is notably missing from the show, a changing force that would have had a lot of impact had it been present.

External stuff aside, the show provides a mirror for the adult me to look into and compare to teenage action me. My views on the paranormal, and the lack of seriousness with which I now take that aspect of the show, is probably the thing that struck me the most. When I was a kid I watched the show for the aliens and the flukemen and such. In rewatching the show the relationship between Fox Mulder and Dana Scully is the real drawing point. The aliens and stuff are icing on the cake. I also have a lot more experience with, you know, life. I understand a lot of what they go through outside of their case files, as well as what they go through to get them accomplished, a lot better. Renting cars was still a magical mystery tour for me at the age of 14.

One of the things that has really struck me is the proseologue they occasionally use. Episodes where one or the other of them is in the hospital end up using it most often, but it’s a stark contrast to the mostly natural dialogue that the show’s stars use for most of the series. Mulder’s dialogue in particular, in retrospect, is pretty excellent stuff and generally makes him come off as the Oxford educated dorkus he’s supposed to be.

Sitting around here somewhere I have a book entitled “Reading the X-Files” which analyzes the X-Files on the basis of gender, myth, and several other criteria as if it were a series of books. I don’t think I ever got around to reading it. I think I should.

btw: Favorite Episodes? Darkness Falls, Clyde Bruckman’s Final Repose, Musings of a Cigarette Smoking Man, and Triangle.

2 comments

  1. Did you know that Chris Carter talks about how the X-files is a metaphor of the search for God, and how Mulder and Scully represent the various opinions and approaches to the question? I love the X-files :)


  2. I just love this series… i have been watching at least two episodes everyday for the past two months. I miss them so much. i wish they make a 2012 film. with william.



Comments are closed.

