h1

The World Has Turned

February 5, 2005

It’s after midnight, making it Saturday the 6th. Yesterday was my last day at the Douglas Stewart Company.

I put in my notice on January 28th, the same day that I was offered a position as a Slashdot Editor by Rob Malda.

My first shift on the front page is going to be Tuesday afternoon.

I can’t even begin to relate my impressions over the past week (though I’ll give it a shot this weekend). Suffice it to say that I’m overwhelmed by the new reality of my situation.

In many ways this is truly a dream come true. Being paid to devote myself to writing, editing, and work that I find rewarding is a gift I wouldn’t have imagined recieving for many years.

The work itself, and working from home, is going to take some getting used to. But, for the first time in my life I’m going to be doing something extremely rewarding that’s also my primary means of financial support.

More on this later….for right now I’m just going to sit here trying to understand what exactly has happened since the new year rolled over.

