h1

Bristol, IL

August 1, 2004

Headed out relatively early yesterday to the scenic location of Bristol. The Ren Faire is always a treat. Lots and lots of shiny things that make me wish I had a disposable income. We took in a great show where a pair of falconers exhibited the sport of kings. The performers were a bit surly at times, but they were beautiful birds. Katie oggled books and busts while I sniffled sadly about swords. There were a couple great musical pieces to take in too. A street performer with a dulcimer and the musical tones that Robin and Little John put forth were probably my favorite. Later in the day we got to see Robin avoid a hanging at the hands of the sheriff of Bristol. Very entertaining all around. (Including a really great double take that reminded me of Joe Rheaume.)

After the faire Katie and I got some ice cream from Coldstone. We went swimming here at the complex before we ate the nummy treats, and cooling off in the pool was much appreciated after the long day.

All in all, a very nice day. The weather wasn’t too hot and there was a nice breeze. I didn’t even mind being outside that much.

Today looks to be lazish. I didn’t get up until 10. I am making headway around the apartment though, so that’s something. Katie is out with her mom visiting her cousin, who just recently had a kid. Very nice to hear good news from a family member. I’ve had enough bad news for a while. BLTs, btw, are my new favorite sandwich.

As far as I know, I have no plans for the week. Score!

