h1

Putting On Some Traveling Music

June 11, 2004

A very busy couple of days, but much work was accomplished. Our preperations for the LRPC-tacular Origins convention continue apace. If we can get a bunch of stuff done next week, we should be all good the following week.

I have mentioned on several occasions that I’ve been writing a lot, but I don’t think I’ve ever really talked about what I was doing. I didn’t want to make a big deal out of it until I knew for sure that it was going to be real. About two months ago I was asked by Simon Carless, the editor for Slashdot Games, to participate in the writing of a book. He’s editing submissions for the book “Gaming Hacks”, one of the newest books in O’Reilly books’ Hacks series. Lo, these two months later, I’ve written pretty much an entire chapter focusing on Massively multiplayer gaming. It’s gone very very well and I think it’s some of my stronger writing so far. A lot of it has gotten chopped down, of course, because I am the wordiest bird in the herd. I still think it’s pretty neat.

I finished up my last submission last week and now I’m just cleaning and polishing for the deadline in a lil’ bit. I’m very excited about it. I’ll post linkage and info as soon as I see some on the O’Reilly site.

Other than that stuff, it’s been business as usual around here. I have a new client that is likely going to be paying more regularly and substantially than my others. That will be nice.

Tonight Katie and I are off to dinner with her folks to start off their Anniversary weekend celebrations. Tomorrow morning bright and early is the start of Brian’s Bachelor Party shenanigans. I am full of the hope that this weekend will go well and that everyone will have a bunch of fun. Passles of it, rather. I will take pictures, and then a few months down the road I’ll post them, so look forward to that.

As for right now, I need a nap. /shrug

