h1

A Beheading is Not Subtle

May 12, 2004

The revelations this month about the abuses of Iraqi prisoners at the hands of US soldiers have stunned the world-politics center of my brain into submission. I can’t even fathom what these events will mean for our country and the world moving forward.

Here at home, this is going to fester and stew into something ugly. The republicans are going to lose for sure this November. I don’t think there is really any question anymore. However, more and more I’m convinced the Kerry isn’t right for the job either.

To be perfectly honest, I want the republicans to wake up and realize what’s going on and replace Bush as their candidate. In all truth if John McCain were on the ballot vs. John Kerry, I’d vote Republican.

On the world stage…I can’t imagine what the rest of the world is thinking. The french, germans, etc. have been curiously quiet since these pictures were released to the world. I don’t know what to make of it, but it can’t be good. I have a sneaking suspicion that the rest of the world is realizing that their big brother, the US of A, has some serious problems. Maybe putting him in the corner for a few years wouldn’t be a bad idea. That’s an idea I’m not adverse to, but I don’t think the rest of the country would be with me on that. I already know that as a citizen of the US I’m sagging under the weight of a deep-seated patriotic shame. I bash our pols a lot, and I think a lot of the institutions of this nation are collapsing into themselves due to corruption and rot, but I still love the US. It’s the only place like it and part of me is proud to be a citizen. It’s hard to say that with a straight face today.

As for Iraq itself…the beheading of Nick Berg pretty much sums up what the Arab world thinks of us now.

It’s hard to say that I’m proud to be an American today, and that fucking sucks.

