h1

Hail, A Chaos Priest

August 27, 2003

Heya.

So, Katie and I got to play EQ for about an hour last night. Her computer (my old computer) is a bit on the slow side and it took roughly 700 hours for EQ Evolution to install. But, we finally got in, and the game runs better than I expected on her machine. I am playing a hafling warrior named Gaippan, and she a hafling druid named Dainelle. Now, I played SWG, and pretty much intuitively understood what the hell I was doing from the get-go. A few subtle interface lessons and I was good.

I now understand why people say that getting into MMOGs can be frustrating. The EQ interface is….thick. Very thick. I’m not ready to call it bad yet, but there is a lot there, and a lot to learn. We wandered around town mostly, working on understanding the layout of Rivervale and handing in our guild notes to our guildmasters.

I imagine that at some point we’ll actually head out into the Misty Thicket and start killing stuff. That should be cool. Katie is really enjoying it so far, which is good. I know I’m feeling a little over my head, and I’m supposed to be a dork who knows stuff, and stuff. “shrug”

The point is, we’re playing together, which be cool y0.

In other gaming news, Katie is almost finished with Neverwinter Nights and is already eager for Shadows of Undrentide. d00d.

Myself, I’m looking forward to this Sunday’s D&D game, as it should be profoundly trippy. [Insert Evil GM Laughter Here] Ahem.